SAFE SAFE 5.5 - Provide and maintain reliable utility services and infrastructure that directly preserve and improve public health and community safety.

CRS (Community Rating System) Rating for floods

The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) Community Rating System (CRS) was implemented in 1990 as a voluntary program for recognizing and encouraging community floodplain management activities exceeding the minimum NFIP standards. The program evaluates communities in four floodplain categories:

  • Public Information
  • Mapping and Regulations
  • Flood Damage Reduction
  • Warning and Response

There are 9 CRS Classes with the highest level being a Class 1. Eight (8) communities in the U.S. occupy the highest CRS levels. There are two (2) Class 1 communities and six (6) Class 2 communities. Each has built a floodplain management program tailored to is own particular hazards, character and goals. Fort Collins (Class 2) uses diverse approaches to keep its large student population informed. Identifying and protecting critical facilities and continually improving its GIS system help the city maintain its exemplary program. For a Class 2 community, flood insurance policy holders are eligible for a 40% premium discount.

FEMA is still implementing the new flood insurance program that was adopted in Oct. 1, 2021.  The methodology used for insurance  premiums have changed and the CRS discount now applies to all flood insurance policies. The average discount per policy is not yet available due to the transition from the previous premium rating method and the new method.

% city protected at 100-year storm level
% completion of Master Plan needs for Stormwater projects